| India, Andhra Pradesh, Visakhapatnam. | loading ...

  • Name : Dr. N. Annapurna
  • Designation : Head of the Department
  • Phone: 0891 2844912, 4911
  • Email: head.enggchemistry@andhrauniversity.edu.in

The Chemistry faculty in the College of Engineering was started as Chemistry Section during the year 1963 to cater the needs of all Engineering Branches in matters relating to Chemistry at the first year level. Subsequently, it was elevated to the status of the Department during 1979. In addition to the teaching at the under graduate level, a two year M.Sc. Applied Chemistry (with an intake of limited students of 18) was started in the academic year 1986. This course has been found to have great relevance to the rapid industrialization and urbanization of visakhapatnam city. A 5 Years Integrated M.Sc. Applied Chemistry course was started during the year 2006 - 2007. The department has also been offering Ph.D. and M.Phil. programmes in the Chemistry since the year 1975 and so far about 38 Ph.D. degrees and 40 M.Phil. degrees were awarded to the candidates. All the staff members in the department have been actively engaged in the research programmes and published about 200 research papers in various National and International Journals. So far, about four major research projects and a good number of minor research projects have been successfully undertaken by the staff members. One of four Professors, Prof. N. Krishna Murthy was endowed with best researcher award, best teacher award etc. Prof. N. Venkateswara Rao, an eminent Professor in the department served as convener, EAMCET-1992 and also Rector of Andhra University during 1993. The Department has also been undertaking various consultancy works like analysis of cement mortor samples, water samples, complex materials like steel, brass etc. The successful students of the course have been found excellent employment opportunities in india and abroad in various academic and industrial organizations.

S.No Courses Offered No.of Seats Available
1 Ph.D. 05 Seats
2 M.Phil. 05 Seats
3 M.Sc. Applied Chemistry 18 Seats
4 Integrated M.Sc. Applied Chemistry (5 years course) 30 Seats

Name Designation Qualification Specialization
Prof. B. Venkateswara Rao Professor Ph.D. Organic Chemistry
Prof. Suseela Bai Gajbhiye Professor Ph.D. Chemistry
Dr. S. Paul Douglas Associate Professor Ph.D. Organic Chemistry
Dr. N. Annapurna Associate Professor &
Head of the Department
Ph.D. Inorganic Chemistry
Dr. G. Hima Bindu Assistant Professor Ph.D. Inorganic Chemistry
Dr. B. Kishore Babu Assistant Professor Ph.D. General Chemistry
Dr. M. Padma Assistant Professor Ph.D. Organic Chemistry
Dr. M. Vijaya Assistant Professor(c) M.Sc., M.Phil, Ph.D. Organic Chemistry