| India, Andhra Pradesh, Visakhapatnam. | loading ...

Prof. Prattipati Subhashini Devi
  • Name : Dr. P. Subhashini Devi
  • Designation : Head of the Department
  • Mobile :(O) 0891 2844535
  • Email : headbiochemistry@gmail.com

The Department of Biochemistry, Andhra University was established in year 1971. The Department offers a two year M.Sc course, M.Phil. and Ph.D. full time and part time in Biochemistry. Several research papers have been published by teachers and scholars of the Department in national and international scientific journals. Some of our former students have occupied very high positions in India and abroad in academic and administrative fields. Several research projects have been undertaken by the teaching faculty.

The Department has organized several symposia/conference/seminars sponsored by Andhra University and DST, DBT, CSIR, UGC, INSA etc. such as XXIII annual meeting of the Indian Immunology Society, 1996 (Silver Jubilee Celebrations), Recent Developments in Biochemistry and Biotechnology, 1997, 66th annual meeting of the Society of Biological Chemists (India), 1997, Archaebacteria: Reflections and Prospects, 2002, Biochemical Energetics and Biological Membranes: Present Perspectives, 2003, Emerging Trends in Biochemical Education, 2003. Present Senario in Biochemical education 2006. Biological and alternative energies - present and Future. 2009, Cellular and Molecular Immunology 2010, Advanced Techniques In Molecular Biology and Genetic Engineering 2010, Future Challenges in Biochemical Education And a colloquium on Protease Inhibitors: Noble role in Physiology and Medicine, 2010, Present Perspectives of Bioactive Molecules and Biotechnology, 2012, Immune Interface of Host-Pathogen Interactions, 2013, Frontiers in Modern Biochemistry from Molecules to Diseases, 2015.

Based on the performance of the Department over the years. it has been recognized with financial assistance by DST-FIST (Level 1), UGC Nom-SAP and UGC-SAP (DRS-1). The Department has been accredited by NAAC of the UGC along with the other Departments of Andhra University.

Courses Offered No. of Seats
M.Sc. Biochemistry 24
M.Phil. Biochemistry --
Ph.D. Biochemistry --
M.S. Molecular Biology & Biotechnology (a Twinning Programme with Kansas State University, USA) 06

Name Designation Qualification
Prof. K.P.J.Hemalatha Professor M.Sc. (1982) Andhra University
Ph.D. (1999) Andhra University
Prof. T.Raghava Rao Professor M.Sc. (1991) Andhra University
Ph.D. (1996) Andhra University
Prof. P.Radhika Professor & BOS, Chairperson M.Sc. (1992) Andhra University
Ph.D. (1997) Andhra University
Dr. P. Subhashini Devi Assistant Professor &
Head of the Department
M.Sc. (1994) Hyderabad Central University, Hyderabad.
M.Tech., (Bio-technology) (2001) J.N.T.University, Hyderabad.Ph.D. (2011) Andhra University
Dr. P.Aparanji Assistant Professor (C) M.Sc. (1995) Andhra University
Ph.D. (2005) Andhra University