| India, Andhra Pradesh, Visakhapatnam. | loading ...

  • Name : Sri D.B. Venkatadri
  • Designation : Head of the Department
  • Phone : 08912844587, 4586
  • Email: head.physics@andhrauniversity.edu.in

Established in the year 1932 starting with a three year B.Sc (Hons.) degree course in Physics with an intake of six students, the Department of Physics has grown into one of the biggest departments in India offering Physics courses in the University campus The Department of Physics has 7 faculty members with over 140 students besides a good number of research scholars and supporting staff. The Physics Department, from its inception, has been recognized as a reputed centre for research leading to Ph.D degrees. It has also been recognized as a UGC Centre for Advanced Study (SAP) Phase- II in Solid State Physics, Materials Science, and Atmospheric & Space Physics. The Department of Physics, located in the heritage building of the University named as JVD College of Science and Technology, is presently offering two different two-year M.Sc courses in Physics and Electronics (Instrumentation). In addition to the research laboratories in Solid State Physics, Materials Science and Atmospheric & Space Physics the Department has a newly established Liquid Crystals Nano Composites Laboratory(LCNCL). The Department Library is well equipped with more than 10,000 volumes of various text and reference books.

The curriculum for the Programmes is restructured to cater to the requirement of Choice Based Credit System (NEP-2020), following the University Grants Commission (UGC) guidelines. In the proposed structure, due consideration is given to Core and Elective Courses along with Ability Enhancement (MOOCS and Value added) Courses. Furthermore, these courses will facilitate systematic and thorough learning towards better understanding of the subject. Well-ordered and planned curricula divided into two years (comprised of four semesters) shall motivate the student for pursuing higher studies in Physics and inculcate enough skills for becoming a good Physicist. The Programme Highlights are: Distinctive academic curriculum, qualified and competent faculty members, transfer of knowledge through scholarly activities, Interdisciplinary project-based learning, guidance for CSIR, UGC-NET, state-of-the-art laboratories, exceptional computational facilities, industry interaction and abroad opportunities.

Sl.No Name of the Program
PG Programmes
1 M.Sc. (Physics)
2 M.Sc. Electronics (Instrumentation)
Doctoral Programmes
1 Ph.D. (Physics)

Name Designation Qualification Specialization
Prof. D.S.V.V.D.Prasad Professor & Chairman PGBOS M.Sc., Ph.D. Aeronomy & Space Physics, Electronics
Prof. K.Samatha Professor & Rector M.Sc., Ph.D. Ultrasonic, Solid State Physics
Prof. M. R.K.Nanchara Rao Professor M.Sc., M.Phil.,PGDCS, Ph.D. Liquid Crystals and Nano Technology
Prof.S.Srinivasa Rao Professor M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D. Atmospheric physics and Space physics
D.B.Venkatadri Associate Professor & Head of the Department M.Sc.(Tech.) Instrumentation
Dr. G. Manikya Rao Associate Professor M.Sc., Ph.D. Materials Science , Nano materials
Dr.B.Ravi Kumar Associate Professor M.Sc., Ph.D. Nano technology & Materials, Computer and Information Sciences