AU Profile Andhra University | NUCLEAR PHYSICS
  • Name : Dr. P.V. Laxminarayana
  • Designation : Head of the Department
  • Phone : 0891 2844610, 4609 ||
    (+91) 92914 00345
  • Email: ||

The Department of Nuclear Physics at Andhra University is the only one of its kind in India, meant for advanced level teaching and research in Nuclear Physics. The Laboratories for Nuclear Reasearch were instituted as a part of the Physics Department in October 1954 with Professor Swami Jananananda as its founder leader. The Department was organized into a full-fledged one in 1956.Prof.V.Lakshminarayana who took the reins of the department from Prof.Swami Janananda in1969 established various fields of research in Nuclear Spectroscopy, Nuclear reactions and interaction of Gamma Radiation. He is a renowned international expert in in-beam Nuclear Spectroscopy. He was awarded the Best Teacher Award by A.P. State Government and National Lectureship by UGC.Prof.K.Venkata Reddy extended the research in Nuclear Spectroscopy using Beta Ray Spectrometers. He was awarded the Best Teacher Award by A.P. State Government. Late Prof.K.Parthasaradhi expanded the horizons of research in the interaction of Photons with Matter and is renowned expert in Radiation Physics. Prof.B.v.Tirumala Rao extended the horizons of in Beam Nuclear Spectroscopy by carrying out pioneering research at the Nuclear Science Centre, New Delhi and at University of Bonn Germany. He is instrumental in establishing a live collaboration of this department with University of Bonn Germany. His collaborative experiments carried out in Germany resulted in the observation of magnetic rotational bands in nuclei of higher spins for the first time which resulted in explaining the behaviour of nuclei at higher angular momentum. Prof.B.Mallikarjuna Rao was instrumental in starting research in applied aspects such as Radiation Oncology. The UGC recognized the Department as a centre for carrying out advanced level research in Nuclear Spectroscopy under “Departmental Support Programme”, in 1978. The Department has on its staff highly qualified teachers. Most of them gained extensive experienced in advanced laboratories in Europe and U.S.A.

Sl.No Name of the Program
PG Programmes
1 M.Sc. (Nuclear Physics)
Doctoral Programmes
1 Ph.D. (Nuclear Physics)

Name Designation Qualification Specialization
Prof. A.D. Prasad Rao Professor &
Former Registrar, Vikrama Simhapuri University &
Chairman, BOS
M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D. Material Science, Elemental analysis and Radiation Physics
Dr. P.V. Madhusudhan Rao Associate Professor M.Sc., Ph.D. Nuclear Spectroscopy
Dr. P.V. Laxminarayana Assistant Professor &
Head of the Department
M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D. Nuclear Analytical Techniques, Trace Elemental Analysis, Accelerator Mass Spectrometry (AMS)
Dr. S.Appanna Babu Assistant Professor M.Sc., Ph.D. Nuclear Reactions and Nuclear Spectroscopy
Dr. N.V. Sita Mahalaskshmi Assistant Professor (C) M.Sc., Ph.D. Reactor Physics, Introductory Nuclear and Neutron Physics, Mathematical methods of Physics.
  • Department of Atomic energy facilities.
  • Bhaba Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai.
  • Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai.
  • Centre for Advanced Technology, Indore.
  • Nuclear Science Centre, New Delhi.
  • Indira Gandhi centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam.
  • IUC DAEF facilities in the country.
  • Degree Colleges in Science & Engg.
  • Oil and Natural Gas Commission (ONGC) Mumbai.
  • Institute of Plasma Research, Gandhinagar ,ahmedabad .
  • National institutes under DRDO.