• Name : Prof. P.Janakiram
  • Designation : Head of the Department
  • Phone : (O) 0891-2844217, 4216
  • Email: head.zoology@andhrauniversity.edu.in

The Department of Zoology is one of the biggest and renowned departments in the College of Science and Technology of Andhra University. It was established in 1946 under the able leadership of Professor Gopala Aiyar as founder Professor. Later the Department made marked progress under the systematic and most disciplined leadership of Professor P.N. Ganapati and then blossomed into one of the biggest and strongest Departments of A.U. College of Science & Technology due to the meticulous planning and academic excellence of Prof K. Hanumantha Rao. In course of time, due to the untiring efforts of successive Heads and faculty members, the Department has grown in size and caliber accommodating a wide spectrum of specializations and involving frontier areas of research. Courses offered: The Department began with B.Sc., pass course. The pass course which existed for a couple of years was replaced by an Honours course, to be followed successively by the introduction of M.Sc (Zoology) by research during 1945-50 and M.Sc Zoology by study in 1959. Presently, the Department is offering a PG Program in M. Sc Zoology. Four specializations Marine Biology, Parasitology, Physiology and Fisheries were recognized and taught. But in tune with recommendations of UGC the Dept shifted to UGC model by offering selective papers in place of specializations and the entire syllabus was revised following the UGC model. From time to time the syllabi of various sbjects have been revised in order to impart high quality and updated information to the students. CBSC (Choice based credit system) pattern and grading system are being adopted in the course syllabus from the current year 2015-16. The Department is strong in all the identified subjects and has the expertise and facilities for running the courses effectively.


Sl.No Name of the Program
PG Programmes
1 M.Sc. (Zoology)
Doctoral Programmes
1 Ph.D. (Zoology)

Name Designation Qualification Specialization
Prof. C.Manjulatha Professor & Chairman Board of Studies Crustacean Physiology, Aquaculture
Prof. P.Janakiram Professor & Head of the Department M.Sc., M.Tech. (IIT) , Ph.D. Fish Pathology and Marine Microbiology Parasitology
Prof. G. Mani Professor M.Sc., Ph.D. Parasitology
Prof. U.Shameem Professor(H)
M.Sc., Ph.D. Parasitology
Prof. B. Bharatha Lakshmi(H) Professor (H) M.Sc., Ph.D. Parasitology and Wild Life
Dr. Ravi Kiran S Yedidi Professor (V) M.Sc., Ph.D. Bio- Technology
Dr. M. Ratnakala Associate Professor M.Sc., Ph.D. Parasitology
Dr. M. Ratna Raju(C) Assistant Professor (C) M.Sc., M.Sc.(Bio-Tech), Ph.D. Fisheries and Aquaculture