| India, Andhra Pradesh, Visakhapatnam. | loading ...

  • Name : Prof. P.K.Ratna Kumar
  • Designation : Head of the Department
  • Phone : (O) 0891-2844545, 2844546
  • Email: head.botany@andhrauniversity.edu.in

The Department of Botany is 58 years old, being started in 1946 with Prof. M.O.P Iyengar as the first Head, Prof. J.Venkateswarlu and Prof. B.S.Rao as founder faculty members. The pass course, which existed for a couple of years, was replaced by an Honours course to be followed successfully by M.Sc. (Botany) by Research in 1949 and M.Sc. (Botany) by study since 1959.Currently there are 21 faculty members with 13 Professors, 7 Associate Professors and 1 Assistant Professors, specialized in different fields of Botany. Cytogenetics has been one of the thrust areas in the research activities of the Department and identified as one of the pioneer centers in Cytogenetics and basing on the work carried out in this area, the UGC has recognized the Department as a Center for Special Assistance Programme in Plant Cytogenetics in the year 1972. Since then, this Center has successfully completed three decades of research activities in this thrust area and is in the 3 rd phase. And basing on the overall research work carried out in all the disciplines, the UGC has also recognized this Department and extended financial support of Rs.45.0 lakhs under COSIST program for strengthening the infrastructural facilities of the department.

Degree Duration Intake Eligibility
M.Sc. Botany 2 years 65 B.Sc. Botany (as main wherever applicable) and any other two science subjects.
M.Sc Agricultural Biotechnology 2 years 25 B.Sc. with any two of the following subjects: Botany, Zoology, Microbiology, Genetics, Biotechnology, Human Genetics, Biochemistry & Seed Technology.
M.Sc Horticulture & Landscape Management 2 years 25 B.Sc. with any two of the following subjects: Botany, Zoology, Microbiology, Genetics, Biotechnology, Human Genetics, Biochemistry & Seed Technology.

Name Designation Qualification Specialization
Prof. B.Sujatha Professor &
BOS, Chairperson
Ph.D. Physiology, Crop Physiology and Biotechnology
Prof. P.K.Ratna Kumar Professor &
Head of the Department
Ph.D. Fungal Biotechnology
Prof. D.Sandhya Deepika Professor Ph.D. Mycology
Prof. S.B. Padal Professor &
Director, Horticulture and
Gareadening Unit
Dr. P. Balarama Swamy Yadav Assistant Professor Ph.D. Cytogenetics, Plant Biotechnology
Dr. S.Subba Tata Assistant Professor (C) M.Sc., M.Sc., M.Tech., Ph.D., Plant Biotechnology and Tissue Culture
Dr. S.V.V.S.Nookanna Dora Assistant Professor (C) M.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D. Biotechnology
  • Well furnished Classrooms-3
  • Experimental Farm
  • Polyhouse
  • Herbarium
  • Computer room
  • Seminar Hall
  • Museum
  • Departmental library (with about 5000 books)
  • Plant Physiology Laboratory
  • Microbial Culture Laboratory
  • Cytology And Cytogenetics Laboratory
  • Embryology Laboratory
  • Bio-diversity Laboratories - 3
  • Tissue Culture Laboratories - 2
  • Central Instrumentation Laboratory -2
  • Cosist Lab
  • Phase Contrast microscope
  • Fluorescence microscope
  • Image analyzing system
  • Gel Scanner
  • Atomatic Absorption Spectrophotometer
  • PCR Unit
  • High speed refrigerated centrifuge
  • Millipore Water unit
  • UV Spectrometer
  • UV Transilluminator
  • Cryostat
  • Ultrasonicator
  • Plant Growth Chamber
  • Electoophoretic units
  • Table Top Centrifuge
  • Simple and Compound Microscopes
  • Refrigerators for material Preservation
  • content
      M.Sc. Botany - Syllabus (2020-2021 Examinations) (First Semester)
      M.Sc. Agricultural Biotechnology - Syllabus (2020-2021 Examinations) (First Semester)
      M.Sc. Horticulture and Landscape Management - Syllabus (2020-2021 Examinations) (First Semester)
      Revised Syllabus - Pandemic year(2020-2021 Examinations)
      M.Sc., Botany - Revised Syllabus - Pandemic year(2020-2021 Examinations) (Third Semester)