• Name : Prof. P.Shyamala
  • Designation : Head of the Department
  • Phone : (O) 9949042258
  • Email: head.chemistry@andhrauniversity.edu.in


The history of the Department of Chemistry, dates back to 1931 and it was one of the first few science departments to be organised on the Andhra University Campus as a part of the J. V. D. College of Science and Technology. Prof. Ludwig Wolf, an eminent Inorganic Chemist from Europe (Germany) equipped the Chemistry Laboratories in the first few years. The department developed into an advanced center of learning under the successive stewardships of Professors T. R. Seshadri (1932-49), G. Gopala Rao (1949-68), L. R. Row (1969-76), and M. N. Sastri (1976-80) including specializations in M.Sc. like Analytical chemistry, Bio-inorganic chemistry, Analysis of Foods, Drugs and Water, Environmental chemistry, Inorganic chemistry, Organic chemistry, Physical chemistry, Nuclear chemistry and Marine chemistry. In the year 1983, the sprawling Department was renamed as School of Chemistry to function as three constituent departments namely Inorganic and Analytical chemistry, Physical and Nuclear chemistry and Chemical Oceanography, and Organic chemistry, Foods, Drugs and Water. From the inception, two separate schools, one led by Prof. G. Gopala Rao and the other by Prof. T. R. Seshadri flourished at the Andhra University chemistry department. After about four decades, the three departments of school of chemistry have amalgamated as a single department of chemistry in April 2022. The Department of Chemistry, at present, offers five specializations at the masters level, Analytical chemistry, Analysis of foods and drugs, Inorganic chemistry, Organic Chemistry and physical chemistry. The syllabus covering a large number of topics in chemistry equip the M.Sc. students to do well in national level competitive examinations and several of them go on to pursue a research career. The facilities developed have gone a long way in imparting quality training to our students. Many of the alumni occupy good positions in the academia and industry. Extra efforts are put by the faculty beyond the classrooms and the painstaking efforts are reflected in the placements received by the graduating students. The department has made good impact on research in the university and at the national level. It receives support from a large number of research grants from funding agencies like the Department of Science and Technology (DST), DRDO and the UGC. The department has been identified by the DST for support under the FIST programme at Level I. The University Grants Commission (UGC), New Delhi has selected the department for UGC-SAP-DRS-I programme.


Sl.No Name of the Program
PG Programmes
1 M.Sc. Chemistry with Organic Chemistry as Specilization
2 M.Sc. Chemistry with Inorganic Chemistry as Specilization
3 M.Sc. Chemistry with Specilization of Chemistry of Analysis of Foods, Drugs and Water
4 M.Sc. Chemistry with Physical Chemistry as Specilization
5M.Sc. Chemistry with Analytical Chemistry as Specilization
Integrated Programmes
1 B.Sc. (Hons)+ 1 year M.Sc. Food Science and Technology
Doctoral Programmes
1 Ph.D. (Chemistry)

Name Designation Qualification Specialization
Prof. T.Siva Rao Professor M.Sc.,Ph.D Bio-Inorganic Chemistry
Prof. K.Basavaiah Professor & Chairman, BoS M.Sc.,Ph.D Nanomaterials for catalysis, energy & Environmental applications, 1D conducting polymers, Graphene based nanocomposites
Prof. P. Shyamala Professor &
Head of the Department
M.Sc., Mphil, Ph.D Development of kinetic models for reactions with multiple equilibrium in the presence of micelles and reverse micelles
Prof. V.Siddaiah Professort Ph.D., Organic Chemistry (Synthesis, Natural Products)
Prof. B.B.V.Sailaja Professor M.Sc.,Ph.D Bio Inorganic Chemistry
Prof G. Nageswara Rao Professor (E ) M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.,
Dr. M. Indu Sekhara Sastry Professor (RINL-Chair ) M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.,
Dr.K Suresh Babu UGC Assistant Professor M.Sc., Ph.D., M.Ed., Organic Synthesis, Study of Photo Physical (NLO, Lasing) and Biological Properties of Organic Compounds
Dr.G. Venkateswara Rao Associate Professor
Dr.K. Jaya Prasanthi Associate Professor
Dr.P. Srinivasa Rao Associate Professor
Dr.P. Kamala Associate Professor
Dr.A. Chandra Leela Associate Professor
Dr. V.Christopher Assistant Professor (C) M.Sc., Ph.D., M.Ed., Organic Synthesis, Study of Photo Physical (NLO, Lasing) and Biological Properties of Organic Compounds
Dr. B.V.Srinivas Assistant Professor (C) M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D., Chemistry and Analysis of Foods, Drugs and Water
Dr. K.V.V.S. Narayana Assistant Professor (C) M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D., Organic Synthesis & Natural Products
Dr. Dasi Samsonu Assistant Professor (C) M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D., Development of new Synthetic Methodologies and their Characterstics

1.Book release of Bio Physical Chemistry By Prof. C. Kalidas