| India, Andhra Pradesh, Visakhapatnam. | loading ...

  • Name : Prof. D.V.R. Murthy
  • Designation : Head of the Department
  • Phone : 91-891-284 4381 , 4382
  • Email: prof.dvrmurthy@andhrauniversity.edu.in

The department of journalism and mass communication came into existence in 1984 on the recommendations of four dignitaries viz., Prof Bashiruddin (Osmania university), Prof C Mohapatra (Berhampur University), Mr. G M Bhargava (Resident Editor, Indian Express), and Mr. R Sampath (former Deputy editor, The Hindu). Initially, the bachelor of journalism and mass communication course was introduced and subsequently, in 1991, the department introduced Master’s degree in journalism and mass communication. Significantly, the department was the first in the country to introduce PhD programme in journalism and mass communication when Prof K V Nagaraj was the head of the department. Prof.P.Bobby Vardhan, Prof.D.V.R.Murthy and Dr.Challa Ramakrishna have been awarded PhD’s in Journalism. All these three faculty members had Media experience. The department has very strong potential in employment hence the placement is 100 Percent. The products of the department have occupied very important positions like CEO’s & Chief’s in various popular Media institutions. Further, the department has been concentrating on result oriented research and could able to produce 33 Phd’s and Five MPhil’s. At present the department has one Post Doctoral Fellow (UGC), One Senior Research Fellow (UGC), one ICSSR Fellow, and one RJNF Scholar.

S.No Name of the Course Duration Intake
1. MJMC (Master of Journalism and Mass communication) 2 Years 30 Seats
2. Diploma in Photography (Evening Course) 06 Months 30 Seats
3. Diploma in Soft Skills (Evening Course) 06 Months 30 Seats

Name Designation Qualification Specialization
Prof. D.V.R. Murthy Professor,
Head of the Department &
Director, Japanese Information
and Study Centre
M.A. (Litt),
Development, Journalism/
Communication Theory,
Research Methodology,
International Communication.
Dr. Challa Ramakrishna Associate Professor
Chairman, Board of Studies
M.A., MJMC, B.L.,
Media Laws, Public Relations,
International Communication,
Political Communication,
Human Rights and
Media and History of Media