| India, Andhra Pradesh, Visakhapatnam. | loading ...

  • Name : Prof. K.Venkata Rao
  • Designation : Head of the Department
  • Phone : (O) 0891 - 284 4490, 4456
  • Email : head.theater@andhrauniversity.edu.in

The Department of Theatre Arts came into existence as a result of the initiative taken by the famous stage actor Sri Ballari Raghava. He proposed that Theatre Arts should be taught in the University as a subject. A committee was constituted by the University with Dr. Toleti Kanaka Raju, the then Member of the Executive Council of Andhra University and Rao Bahadur Sambadan Modaliar, who was considered as the father of modern Tamil theatre. As a result of their recommendations, the Department of Theatre Arts was established in the year 1961 which was the first department of its kind in any University in India. Dr. K.V.Gopala Swamy was the founder Head of the Department, who later became the Registrar of Andhra University. The succession list of the Head of the Department includes such luminaries as Sri. Mantri Srinivasa Rao (Fellow of British Drama League), Sri Chatla Sriramulu, Sri Attili Krishna Rao, Dr. Abburi Gopalakrishna and Dr. Ramavarapu Sarat Babu. The efforts put in by Sri K.Venkateswara Rao, Stage Director of the Department of Theatre Arts has resulted in bringing out many artists, directors and screen play writers. They include Devadas Kanakala, Potti Prasad, Sakshi Ranga Rao, S.K.Misro, Krishna Chaitanya and Vankayala Satyanarayana Murty etc. At present Prof. G.Subrahmanyam, Principal, Colleges of Arts and Commerce is looking after the Department as In-charge Head of the Department.

S.No Name of Course
1.P.G. Diploma in Acting (Two Years Acting Course)

2.P.G. Diploma in Play Direction (Two Years Direction Course)

New courses introduced (after 2002)

3.IV-Year Bachelor Degree in performing Arts (BPA Course) to cater the needs of theatre aspirants in North Coastal Area.

4.6 Months Certificate Courses in Acting Anchoring for T.V. Channels & Acting in Theatre Arts in 2005.

5.Certificate course in Folk Songs.

6.Certificate course in Photography.

7.Certificate course in Acting & Play direction

Name Designation Qualification Specialization
Prof. K.Venkata Rao Professor of Computer Science & Systems Engineering &
Head of the Department
Dr. M. Bhaskara Rao Assistant Professor (C) MA, DTA, Ph.D. Social Drama, Stylized Drama, Historical Drama and Modern Drama
Dr. M. Sasibhushan Swamy Assistant Professor (C) MPA(TA), Ph.D. Stylized, Street Play in Modern Drama and Verse Drama
Dr. G. Srinivasa Rao Assistant Professor (C) MA, DTA, Ph.D. Principles of Acting and Stage Management
Dr. Trinadha Rao Teaching Arrangement MA(TA), Ph.D.
Sri.Vanga Pandu Prasada Rao Folk Trainer MA